Loremonger

Holiday Train Re-Creation

Good Morning (at least it is here), Everyone.

I'm looking to put together the Holiday Train to go around my Christmas village. I'm brand new to LEGO trains, so I'm wondering if what I'm really wanting is this Complete Holiday Train Collection

My initial plan is to part out a couple of Constitution Train Chase Sets to get the wheel assemblies and a handful of other parts that I need.

So I guess I'm asking for some advice.

What kind of track and motor should I use?

What other sets have a lot of the same parts? 

Do you have any suggestions for replacements for high-priced or hard to find parts? For instance, the windowsare a doozey. I need 12, but in white, they cost ~$5.00 a piece! I figure I'll just use another color, but would welcome any other creative ideas. Also, I figure for the toys, I can use just about anything to fill up that car. Same with minifigs. 

Thanks in advance! Happy building. Play well together.

Thea will have some good ideas for this.

Those white windows are in Market Street, hence the silly prices, but a better bet is to buy Shrieking Shacks [4756], with no minifigs from *Bay. They go for £10 ish in the UK, in crappy condition, and have 5 of them.

OMG! this is like deja vu.  I just got a message from someone at BL asking me the same thing and it wasn't Loremonger!

The answer is:  Any train can become a Christmas train.  Build it in the traditional colors of Red, Green and White.  I just uploaded a picture of ours that is a 9v.   http://bricksafe.com/pages/thea  post-17-0-71993800-1380918780_thumb.jpg